23
Feb
12

The Nice Way to Make My Point.


Hello.  My name is Allen McKinley and I’m a T-4 Paraplegic.  This means I’m paralyzed from the chest down and use a wheel chair 100% of the time.  I was visiting Phoenix and was staying at the downtown Hyatt over this last weekend.  On Sunday afternoon 2/19/2012 I attempted to get some food at your “pub”.  My first issue was the fact that the elevator did not work and doesn’t have an “out of order” sign on it.  I was in Phoenix for 6 days and tried it 3 days prior which means to my knowledge for at least 4 days the elevator was not working.  Not a big deal, but an annoying one when someone sits there waiting for 5 minutes twice. 

 

A gentleman came by and told me it didn’t work and that I could access the pub through a building next door.  We made it upstairs and went inside.  I do have a certified service dog that I’ve had for 4.5 years now.  She is extremely well behaved and travels with me everywhere.  This would include no less than 30 different states and to Canada twice.  She has been to countless tradeshows, hotels, on flights, hundreds of restaurants, and everywhere I go for the last 2 years.  Once I entered your pub a doorman came up to me and told us to leave.  I explained that she is a service dog and had the appropriate tags on her collar as required by law.  He then went over to the manager (Toby Aebersold) and let him know. 

 

Mr. Aebersold told him unless I’m blind I still had to leave.  The ignorance on this alone is lost on me, but I will continue so you understand the full scope of the situation.  The doorman proceeded to interrogate me on what was wrong with me and why I needed a service dog.  First point I would like to make is it is no one’s business why I need a service dog.  Having to think about the day I wrecked a motorcycle 10 years ago to satisfy Mr. Aebersold’s criteria was inappropriate, extremely rude, and absolutely uncalled for.  Not to mention illegal.  I was told because I’m not blind I still had to leave.  At this point my enjoying a meal and drink in your pub was definitely not going to happen.  I asked Mr. Aebersold for a card so that I could report this incident and take appropriate legal action if needed to ensure NOBODY else with a disability gets treated in such a rude, uncompassionate, and just plain mean way. 

 

I have NEVER in 10 years had anyone make me feel as bad as Mr. Aebersold went out of his way to do.  I have also never had to write an email like this or talk to a lawyer about legal action as I work very hard for a living and don’t like the idea of suing anyone.  I do have a witness that was blown away at the audacity of the entire situation.  I want to point out that my service dog Murphy and I are part of a global ad campaign for Invacare wheelchairs & Motion concepts.  I also work as the national sales manager for Aldila Golf Corp & Spinergy wheelchair wheels.  Again this has nothing to do with money but rather the total lack of respect I was shown at your downtown Phoenix location.  Thank you for your time and I look forward to your prompt response.

 

This is the email I sent to corporate.  I had an email and phone call within 30 minutes.  I’m working so I haven’t been able to follow up and I think I’ll make them worry for a while.  Never put up with someone’s crap, life is to short, and sometimes people need a wake up call.

Fknbucky


5 Responses to “The Nice Way to Make My Point.”


  1. 1 Shane large
    February 23, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    Yo buck sue the shit out of those assholes make them pay if u don’t want the money donate it to something just make them pay love u bro .

  2. February 23, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    Bucky, I hope you follow thru on the suing of them. It was wrong and illegal. Even if you don’t need the $$ from it, I have all faith that you would know best where it would help out others in situations similar to yours. It just appalls me sometimes of other people’s ignorance, meanness, mean spirited attitudes, and all around nastiness. Please keep us updated as you can on how things go, and hopefully you will never encounter this again anywhere.

    Sending love to you and Murphy, as I am sure she was a little put out as well. :) Let them hang for a little while, and personally, I would be so mad that I would not even talk to them, but would let the attorney(s) deal with them. It was uncalled for, and the “pub” manager and the facility manager(s) should be familiar with the laws if they want to run an establishment.

    Many prayers that this remedies to your satisfaction,

  3. 3 JOlynn Stoneking
    February 24, 2012 at 6:33 am

    That was a great letter that you wrote, and it is sad that in this day and age people are so ignorant. I hope that man loses his job, and all of their staff are required to take some kind of training about persons with disabilites. Good Luck!

  4. 4 Mickie Mauderer
    February 25, 2012 at 9:51 am

    Good for you!! I have a son who has Duchenne MD and has been in a wheelchair since he was 12. I had a problem with the school when he went into high school because it had several floors and they didn’t have a elevator. They sent me a letter saying he would have to go to another school in another school district until they got the elevator put in. I threatened to talk to a lawyer and they immediately figured out a way to make it work. You have to be assertive when you are handicapped. Most people have no idea what is a problem for a person in a wheelchair. Keep up the good work!

  5. 5 Brandon and Deanna Kucera
    February 25, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    That was a great letter. I hope the right actions are taken. No that was not right how you were treated.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

RSS Ask F*ck’n Bucky

  • Learning to Fail June 11, 2014
    Obama is right. Not easy to say that, but something needs to be done about all the school shootings. It makes me sad that it happens almost every week for some reason and I’m laying in bed trying to figure what the hell is going on?? Plus I can’t sleep for some stupid reason. Insomnia […]
    bucktown420
  • Truly Honor those who sacrificed so much May 26, 2014
    Memorial Day — What does it mean to you??? BBQ?? Beer?? Friends?? Family?? Getting a day off of work??? Do you or have you ever given it any thought??? Do you know what it really means?? Do I know??? I’ve seen the history of Memorial Day or Decoration Day floating around Facebook. Seems back in […]
    bucktown420
  • Love me two times….. May 22, 2014
    It is evening time and I’m not feeling so great. Must be that super healthy lunch I got from Wendy’s. This is why you should never trust a ginger. That bitch poisoned me. Damn commercials making that food look all yummy. I didn’t get that meal, I got the soggy fries, undercooked chicken smothered in […]
    bucktown420
  • FREE ANDREW TAMOORESSI — YOU CAN & NEED TO HELP RIGHT NOW!!! May 21, 2014
    Crazy week. Lots of emotions and just plain crazy. I’ve been watching a story here in San Diego that is just wrong. I’ve written about it a couple times, but never published the blogs. Today is the day that I take it to you, and hope you run with it. Being silent is adding to […]
    bucktown420
  • Leader of the Pack May 18, 2014
    It’s Sunday. It’s a gorgeous day outside and I’m blessed to be living in San Diego. My plan for today was to wake up, watch some TV/read my book, and then lay by the pool for the afternoon working on my tan. Yep I’d say that is one heck of a productive day. I was […]
    bucktown420
  • Beat your dog, and the rest of us will kill you slowly May 17, 2014
    Oh the joys of having a dog. I love my dog Murphy who gets mentioned in many a blog and truly life would not be the same without her. I remember before I got a dog I told myself that I would never be “that guy”, but fast forward a few years and I’m worse […]
    bucktown420
  • Happy Mom Day!!! May 11, 2014
    Mom Day. It is a great money making day for Hallmark, flower shops, and the liquor companies that supply the baby making super juice many of us owe our existence to. In turn though hopefully Mom Day makes a couple Mom’s out there feel pretty special and reminds them how much all of us good […]
    bucktown420
  • If I was….. October 11, 2013
    Shutdown. Seems to be the only thing the news has to talk about. The polls say it is this sides fault or the other sides fault. The other day I wrote that I don’t give a fuck. That is mainly true. Only 17% of the government is actually shut down, but watching the news one […]
    bucktown420
  • Live your life starting now October 9, 2013
    Hump Day!! That camel commercial for Geico is awesome, annoying as fuck, but awesome all the same. Today is special and I’m going to ask you why?? Government shut down?? Nope. Fknbucky blog day?? Nope. Because I live in San Diego and you don’t?? Kind of. Here is the real answer. Today is special because […]
    bucktown420
  • Who givesa?? October 4, 2013
    The government is shut down. I have 3 words for you. Who givesa fuck?? That is right givesa is a word where I’m from and actually thats not true, I just made it up. If you needed the last 5 days to realize our government is fucked up, then you should walk outside, and beat […]
    bucktown420

Bucky Tweet Stuff!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

